I really want to think of objectives as sexy……

photoOk, I am going to be brutally honest now – objectives are not sexy!

They are however: essential, important, brilliant to have (when written well) and kind of ….. boring …. dare I say it?

One of my biggest light bulb moments and one of my coaching clients just recently, has been that objectives are at the bottom of everything. If you are,for example:

  • designing training
  • delivering a presentation
  • facilitating a meeting
  • meeting with your boss
  • emailing a key stakeholder to endorse something you are doing

If you do not have a clear objective for any of the above, the likelihood of the event being fruitful and productive does diminish.

The biggest problem therefore, for me,  is how to get excited enough to write some great business focussed objectives when all I can think of are the great training activities that I am about to design?

Talking with one of my associates, Karen Foundling last week, I showed her a box of cards I had printed, which contained 50 great verbs for writing objectives. They are colour coded:

  • Turquoise – knowledge
  • Pink – attitude
  • Purple – skills to do with people
  • Orange – physical skills
  • Red – skills to do with thinking and the brain

We sat and looked at some scenarios, for which we needed to write objectives – laying out the cards on the tableIMG_1565 IMG_1566 IMG_1567 IMG_1568 IMG_1562 IMG_1563IMG_1565 IMG_1566

The photos show the descriptors for the cards, with the cards underneath. This exercise actually became fun! We chose the appropriate colour, fished through the cards and hey presto, wrote great objectives using Robert Mager’s PCS framework. Just the physical act of thumbing through the cards and arranging them in order helped us both to get our heads around how straight forward writing objectives can be.

I have now expanded my cards to 100 and in the post a few days ago, arrived my little boxes…… just wondering how useful anyone else might find them?

photo

18 thoughts on “I really want to think of objectives as sexy……

  1. simon leckie says:

    I really like the idea of these. They could also work well on the day by getting people in pairs/small grouos to dfine tehir personal objectives for the session. Were you thinking about making these available to buy?

  2. I love the ideas mentioned here. I’d be interested in a set if you decide to print.

    Stephen

  3. adamha1984 says:

    Really like these! I’d purchase

  4. I have been investigating having a small print run done to see how they go – price would be £20 for a set. How does that sound?

  5. Liz Ford says:

    Hi Krys. I love your little cards (I have my business cards done by the same company) and I’d be intereted in purchasing a box to add to my resource kit. Liz

  6. Nicole says:

    Hi Krys
    I think your cards are a really inspirational idea. I certainly would be interested in gaining a set if you decide to go ahead and sell them. £20.00 souonds about right for a good learning/teaching tool.

  7. Freya says:

    Hi i really like these and would be interested in purchasing them

  8. Ann Burton says:

    Hello Krys me too! Hope you are well.

  9. I like the cards! I would be interested in ourchasing a set. Thanks!

  10. Rachel says:

    Hello, are these cards available to buy yet?

  11. I am still making enquiries for someone to stock them …. will keep you posted ….

  12. Hi Everyone

    I have 10 boxes available for sale at £24 each. I will be at the CIPD L&D show at Olympia 13th-14th may if you are coming then you can reserve a box.

    If you would like to buy a box and i have to post then that will have to be added on….. any takers?

    Krys

Leave a comment