Can an old trick teach a dog something new?

IMG_0006It is not always obvious, but as a learning and development professional, I think you should enjoy learning and have a good attitude to learning. Over the last few years, I have been in various situations, where this has really come to the forefront of my mind. A while back, one participant on a workshop I was running, said in her evaluation, “I did not learn anything new ”
When discussing this comment with the client, (along with other the evaluations) it really made me think how important attitude is when it comes to learning

I attended a meeting not long ago in which someone was describing a conflict model I had used many times before. Thinking that I will not have learnt anything from that session, they asked if it went well for me. I can say, hand on heart, there was no new material, but I did learn something new. Having new people in a different setting looking at the same model can give a different perspective, but you need to have the right open-minded attitude and a willingness to see new perspectives.

Henry Ford said

“If you think you can, or you can’t, then you are probably right”

I love this quotation and it does not do any harm to revisit this thought. What have I learnt from this? Firstly it is really important to prepare your learners for learning. If someone at the end of a sessions says “I have not learnt anything”, then maybe you could try in the future
the following:

  • In the joining instructions ask them to come with an open mind and willing to share their experiences
  • If they have already been on similar training, ask what new perspectives they might like to gain
  • Ask them to collaborate with their colleagues on some pre-work to start the sharing
  • Ask them what they would like to get out of the session

If you would like to know more about how to prepare your learners for learning then join us on The Learning Loop® or one of our Showcase events. Or contact us directly.

 

Leave a Reply

