Our Greatest Fear

IMG_0001_2The prose at the end of this blog comes from Marianne Williamson and is called “Our Greatest Fear”. It has been a great inspiration to me and helped me overcome some of my British reserve” (even though both of my parents are Polish!)

Reading this for the first time, it really made me think about what my greatest fears are. In no particular order these are some of mine:

  • Appearing arrogant or big-headed
  • Success
  • Failure
  • Looking silly

I could probably spend a lot of time on each of these, but it is the first of these that has impacted the development of my career and my business most of all, up until a  few years ago.

Common scripts running through my head were:

“If you are good at something, others will notice and tell others about it”

“If you tell someone you are good at something they probably will not believe you”

“People who publicise themselves are full of themselves”

These scripts did not serve me well. They prevented me (in the past) from:

  • Writing articles to be published in a professional journal
  • Writing blogs
  • Writing a book
  • Exhibiting at professional exhibitions to promote my business
  • Putting myself forward for a speaking slot at conferences

And some others too……

By May the 15th I will have done all of the things listed above. So what has brought about this change of heart and mind?

  1. I  have reflected on my own performance and then used others feedback to weigh it up
  2. When others have praised me, I have resisted the temptation to say “It’s nothing…” instead I have thanked them and inwardly digested their praise.
  3. I offer “my way” as an option and not an absolute (except for my thought on objectives of course!!)
  4. I invite feedback, but how I accept it is my choice
  5. Listening to others points of view is still important to me
  6. I know I can change my mind…..

So……if you fear looking arrogant, then ask yourself

  • “How many people have told me I am good at this?”
  • “Deep down, how do I know I am good at this?”
  • How can I put this across to others and offer it as an option?”

IMG_0079Finally …… I would encourage you all to shine and then encourage others to shine by your example …… you never know what you might catch yourself achieving!

 

Our Greatest Fear — “Return to Love” by Marianne Williamson, Harper Collins, 1992

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.

Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.

Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us.

We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?

Actually, who are you not to be?

You are a child of God.

Your playing small does not serve the world.

There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.

It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.

And as we let our own light shine,

We unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our own fear,

Our presence automatically liberates others.

 

One thought on “Our Greatest Fear

  1. basdenleco says:

    Stunningly brilliant

Leave a Reply

