Jedi Mind Tricks and LNA

Untitled

“Always pass on what you have learned.” Yoda

My niche area is developing trainers and over the last 5 years I have worked with 100’s of trainers, helping them to become more creative and to get a strategic perspective on training. When starting any programme, I am quick to tell them that I will be using my Jedi mind tricks to get them thinking differently….. I know it is a  gimmick…. but hey it works!

The training cycle always begins with Training Needs Analysis …. but stop right there…. if we do a “Training Needs Analysis” ….. we assume that the solution is training. So when speaking to delegates I say to them that every time someone mentions training needs analysis they will think of “Needs Analysis” (this is where the Jedi mind tricks start)

After all – if the only tool you have is a hammer, everything will look look a nail. So if we do a learning needs analysis, that will open up all sorts of possibilities right? Well yes …. but it may close us off to thinking about other “needs” in the organisation:

  • Decent processes
  • Equipment that works
  • Line manager reinforcement and feedback
  • A clear vision for the organisation
  • Sufficient resources

So the next time someone asks you to do a training needs analysis …… and I have never used my Jedi mind tricks over the t’interweb….. but here goes…… you WILL think about “NEEDS” as well as “LEARNING NEEDS”….. please let me know if this has worked …… could be very lucrative for me…….

If you would like to learn more about the whole Learning Loop, how to be strategic and creative then get in touch or book onto my one-day Learning Loop open workshop on January 31st in Leeds

Leave a Reply

